Home > Galvanization

RECOMMENDATION ON THE CHOICE OF STEELS

WELL CHOOSE YOUR STEEL FOR GALVANIZATION

The results obtained during hot-dip galvanizing depend, in part, on steels, in particular their chemical composition.
In fact, when steel is immersed in liquid zinc, a diffusion reaction occurs between the zinc and the steel.

The formation rate and the structure of the coating are a function of silicon and phosphorus. These two elements, contained in the steel, accelerate the growth of zinc-iron alloy layers and can thwart the results of the galvanization.

It is necessary to impose specifications for the respect of these two elements. The standard NF A 35-503 “Steels for hot dip galvanizing” defines three categories of steel according to their guaranteed product content in silicon and phosphorus. You can obtain the guarantee by asking the steel supplier to produce a product control document according to NF EN 10204: acceptance certificate 3.1A.

Challenges of steel that come out after galvanizing.

 

Steels too rich in silicon, phosphorus or non-compliant with the NF A 35-503 standard cause strong and absorbing reactivities of zinc, which engage a poor aesthetic quality and embrittlement and peeling of the coating.

(*) Each grade of steel (A, B or C) has its application

These elements are purely indicative

Category of steel

Category A and to a lesser extent Category B provide a coating of uniform appearance and thickness corresponding to the minimum values guaranteed in standard NF EN ISO 1461.

For category C steels, the coating thickness is, on identical galvanizing conditions, of the order of 120 μm to 200 μm. For certain types of complicated or massive pieces that require a longer immersion time, the thicknesses may exceed 200 μm. The appearance is generally duller than for Grade A or B steel. Gray, marbled or rough areas that do not affect the corrosion resistance may appear.

The corrosion resistance of this type of coating is equivalent to that of a typical appearance of coating and its lifetime is typically greater, since the latter, in a given location is a function of the coating thickness.
Influence of the Si content on the thickness of the galvanized coating (relative value)

 

Repair System

However, it will be necessary to take more precautions during transport or placement to avoid localized flaking due to violent shocks. If this is the case, it is necessary to recondition the chipped areas. This repackaging will be done either by spraying, or by applying ZINQ Fix adhesive strips or tapes, which we recommend.

HOW TO READ YOUR PURCHASE AND SUPPLY DOCUMENTS FOR GALVANIZATION STEELS

Special requirement:

A receipt certificate 3.1A according to standard NF EN 10204, supplied at the time of delivery, will confirm compliance with this requirement.
These elements are purely indicative
Source: Galvazinc, Recommendation on the choice of steels.

GALVA UNION

 

GALVA UNION is the specialist of galvanization, powder coating and duplex treatment.

Privacy Preference Center

Données nécessaires

Les cookies d'analyse des visites permet à GALVA UNION de connaitre le nombre de visiteurs mensuels sur son site.

Google Analytics

Advertising

Analytics

Other

Accueil > Galvanisation 

Recommandation sur le choix des aciers

Bien choisir son acier pour la galvanisation

Les résultats obtenus lors de la galvanisation à chaud dépendent, en partie, des aciers, notamment de leur composition chimique.
En effet, lorsqu’on immerge de l’acier dans du zinc liquide, il se produit une réaction de diffusion entre le zinc et l’acier.

La vitesse de formation et la structure du revêtement sont fonction du silicium et phosphore. Ces deux éléments, contenus dans l’acier, accélèrent la croissance des couches d’alliages zinc-fer et peuvent contrarier les résultats de la galvanisation.

Il est nécessaire d’imposer des spécifications pour le respect de ces deux éléments. La norme NF A 35-503 « Aciers pour galvanisation par immersion à chaud » définit trois catégories d’acier en fonction de leur teneur garantie sur produit en silicium et phosphore. Vous pouvez en obtenir la garantie en demandant au fournisseur d’acier de vous produire un document de contrôle sur produit selon NF EN 10204 : certificat de réception 3.1A.

Défauts de l’acier qui ressort après galvanisation.

 

Des aciers trop riches en silicium , phosphore ou non conformes à la norme NF A 35-503 provoquent des réactivités fortes et absorbent trop de zinc qui engendre une mauvaise qualité esthétique et une fragilisation et écaillage du revêtement.

Norme NF A 35-503 :

(*) Chaque catégorie d’acier (A, B ou C) a son application

Ces éléments sont purement indicatifs

Catégorie d’acier

La catégorie A et dans une moindre mesure la catégorie B assurent un revêtement d’aspect uniforme et d’épaisseur correspondant aux valeurs minimales garanties dans la norme NF EN ISO 1461.

Pour les aciers de la catégorie C, l’épaisseur de revêtement est, à conditions de galvanisation identiques, de l’ordre de 120 µm à 200 µm. Pour certains types de pièces de forme compliquée ou massives et qui nécessitent un temps d’immersion plus important, les épaisseurs peuvent dépasser 200 µm. L’aspect est en général plus mat que pour un acier de catégorie A ou B. Des zones grises, marbrées ou rugueuses n’ayant pas de conséquences sur la tenue à la corrosion peuvent apparaître.

La résistance à la corrosion de ce type de revêtement est équivalente à celle d’un revêtement d’aspect habituel et sa durée de vie est généralement supérieure, puisque celle-ci, en un lieu donné, est fonction de l’épaisseur du revêtement.

Influence de la teneur en Si sur l’épaisseur du revêtement galvanisé (valeur relative)

Reconditionnement

Cependant, il sera nécessaire de prendre davantage de précautions lors du transport ou de la mise en place pour éviter des écaillages localisés consécutifs à des chocs violents. Si tel est le cas, il est nécessaire d’effectuer un reconditionnement des zones écaillées. Ce reconditionnement se fera soit par métallisation au pistolet, soit par l’application de pastilles ou rubans adhésifs ZINQ Fix que nous vous recommandons.

Comment libeller vos documents d’achat et d’approvisionnement des aciers pour galvanisation

Exigence particulière :

 

Un certificat de réception 3.1A selon la norme NF EN 10204, fourni lors de la livraison, confirmera le respect de la présente exigence.

GALVA UNION

 

GALVA UNION est le spécialiste de la galvanisation à chaud, du thermolaquage et du traitement duplex.