An expert in surface treatment

GALVANIZATION AND POWDER COASTING

  • logo FR
  • logo EN
  • logo ES

Zingage

Definition : Zingage

Zinc is widely used for protecting steel by increasing its resistance to corrosion. A layer of zinc is applied by hot-dip galvanizing or by electrolytic means. Galvanizing accounts for about 40% of the world's zinc consumption.

"Zinc coating" is a general expression meaning the application of a zinc coating to steel.

There are various methods of zinc coating :

  • Electrolytic zinc coating (electrogalvanizing or zinc plating) :

Steel articles are placed in a solution of zinc salts. A continuous current is applied and a layer of zinc is deposited on the surface of the steel. The entire external surface may be coated in this way. The shape of the article to be coated determines the variation in the thickness of the zinc, and therefore its resistance to corrosion.

Zinc or a zinc-aluminium alloy, in the form of wire or powder, supplies a metallization spray gun in which the metal is melted by a flame or an electric arc. The liquid metal is then turned into a spray using compressed air and projected onto the steel surface to be protected, which had been prepared by shot blasting. The latter is required to obtain the roughness necessary for the coating to adhere. In general, the surface of metallized products has to be covered by a paint finish that includes at least one coat of sealant.

  • Zinc coating by immersion in molten zinc, or galvanizing :

This is GALVA UNION's speciality.

Spécialiste du traitement anti-corrosion

GALVANISATION ET THERMOLAQUAGE

  • Français
  • Anglais
  • Espagnol

Zingage

Définition : Zingage

Le zinc est largement utilisé dans le cadre de la protection de l'acier afin de lui donner une plus grande résistance à la corrosion. La couche de zinc est appliquée selon le procédé de galvanisation à chaud (voir également la galvanisation par centrifugation)ou par voie électrolytique.Environ 40% de la consommation mondiale de zinc se fait dans la galvanisation.

"Zingage" est une expression générale qui désigne l'application d'un revêtement de zinc sur l'acier.

Il existe différentes méthodes de zingage :

  • Zingage électrolytique :

Les pièces en acier sont placées dans une solution de sels de zinc. Sous l'influence d'un courant continu, une couche de zinc se dépose sur la surface de l'acier. Toute la surface extérieure peut ainsi être revêtue. La forme de la pièce à traiter détermine la répartition des épaisseurs et dès lors la résistance à la corrosion.

Du zinc ou un alliage zinc-aluminium, sous forme de fil ou de poudre, alimente le pistolet de métallisation dans lequel le métal est fondu par une flamme ou par un arc électrique. Le métal liquide est pulvérisé à l'aide d'air comprimé et est projeté sur la surface d'acier à protéger, qui a été préparé au préalable par grenaillage. Celui-ci est nécessaire pour obtenir une rugosité nécessaire à l'adhérence du revêtement. En général, la surface des produits métallisés doit être recouverte d'un système de peinture comportant au minimum une couche de colmatage.

  • Zingage par immersion dans le zinc en fusion, c'est à dire galvanisation.

Il s'agit là de la spécialité de GALVA UNION.