An expert in surface treatment

GALVANIZATION AND POWDER COASTING

  • logo FR
  • logo EN
  • logo ES

Galvanized steel

Definition : Galvanized steel

Steel is an alloy made of iron and carbon. The maximum carbon content in steel is 2 %, above this it becomes cast iron.

Iron appeared in Europe well before the Christian era, during the period known as the "iron age", which followed on from the stone age and the bronze age. Steel has been produced industrially for about one hundred and fifty years.

Due to its mechanical properties, the ease with which it can be moulded and its competitive price, steel is very much in demand in the building and construction sectors. The Eiffel tower in Paris is an outstanding example, but, of course, steel can now be seen everywhere, in the form of bridges, viaducts, cranes, industrial installations, electricity pylons and roadside barriers. Steel is also used in the automobile industry for cars, trucks and caravans; for electrical appliances such as washing machines and microwaves; in storage and packaging, for cans, vats etc. The production of most of these objects requires standard qualities and sizes of steel that are usually available from stock.

Steel products are generally divided into flat products and long products.

To obtain a coating with a specific thickness and appearance, certain levels of Si and P must be respected. The French standard, AFNOR NF A 35-503, defines these levels and classifies steel that is "suitable for galvanization" into three categories.

Spécialiste du traitement anti-corrosion

GALVANISATION ET THERMOLAQUAGE

  • Français
  • Anglais
  • Espagnol

Acier galvanisé

Définition : Acier galvanisé

L'acier est un alliage de fer et de carbone. Lorsque la teneur en carbone est inférieure à 2 % il s'agit d'acier, sinon il s'agit de fonte.

Le fer a fait son entrée en Europe bien avant l'ère chrétienne. Cette époque s'appelle " l'âge de fer " ; elle suit l'âge de pierre et l'âge de bronze. La production industrielle de l'acier remonte à environ 150 ans.

Grâce à ses propriétés mécaniques, à sa facilité de mise en forme et à son prix très compétitif, l'acier est un matériau très apprécié dans les secteurs du bâtiment et de la construction. Un exemple des plus marquants est la Tour Eiffel à Paris mais chacun connaît dans son entourage immédiat des exemples tels que ponts, viaducs, grues, installations industrielles, pylônes haute tension et glissières de sécurité. Mais l'acier est également utilisé en construction automobile : voitures, poids lourds, caravanes ; dans l'électroménager : machines à laver, fours à micro-ondes ; pour le stockage et le conditionnement : boîtes de conserve, cannettes, fûts... La mise en ouvre de la majorité de ces produits requiert des qualités et des formats d'acier standards généralement disponibles sur stock.

Les produits en acier sont généralement subdivisés en produits plats et produits longs.

Pour obtenir une couche de revêtement présentant une épaisseur et un aspect spécifié, certaines teneurs en Si et P doivent être respectées. La norme française AFNOR NF A 35-503 définit ces teneurs et classe les aciers "aptes à la galvanisation" en trois catégories (voir également notre page sur la galvanisation par centrifugation).